Home Up About Dal Sabzi Search Contact Shakun Mailing List Site Map


A Prayer by Tagore
Aum and Chakras
Gayatri Mantra
Shri Hanuman Chalisa
Lord Ganesh
Mahalaxmi Mantra
Mantra for Improving Life
Mantra for a Peaceful Life
Mantra for a Child
Mantras for Busy People
Mantras for Difficult Times
Mantra for Health
Mantras of Ma
Mantra for Marriage
Mantra For Prosperity
Mantra for Studies
Mantra for Success
Miscellaneous Mantras
Narayan Kavach
On Wavering Minds
Palav Prayer
Satyanarayan Katha
Shiv Chalisa
Shri Narayana
Sindhi Diwali Puja Vidhee
Teaching / Learning
The Lord's Prayer
The Palm Mantra
Two Shabads
Vasudeva Kutumbakam


Aum and Chakras

A friend of mine, R. Salvi, asked me the following question :

Please tell me how the three sounds of AUM have an effect on us. I knew it but have forgotten it. For Example Ah  OO and M when chanted separately have separate effects on our body. Please explain.

Below is my reply and explanation :

The 'Ah' emanates from the first chakra, i.e. the root or base chakra. The base chakra is the colour red and is located at the base of the spine. One can visualise the red of this energy center. It could have a calming influence on whatever one is afraid of. It governs understanding of the physical dimension. Its sound could cure problems connected with the kidneys and the spinal column.

"Ah' continues upwards to reach the second chakra located in the sexual organs (ovaries in women, and testes in men). It is the chakra that governs and cures attitudes in relationships, sex and reproduction.

The 'Ah' sound slowly turns to the 'U' sound. It travels up via the third chakra: The Solar Plexus. It governs the action of the spleen, liver, stomach and gall-bladder. It clears emotional sensitivities. When one meditates on the yellow of the Solar Plexus, one may begin to relax and let go of the need to control. One will start to feel more confident, and will break free from negative ego.

The 'U' sound reaches the fourth chakra situated in the heart. It is the center through which we feel love. When one meditates upon the colour green, the love that flows has the power to heal the entire body. It governs the heart, blood and circulatory system. Also influences the immune and endocrine systems.

The 'M' comes out as a vibrating note through closed lips. The vibration of the 'M' sound goes through the fifth chakra, continues through the sixth, arrives at the crown of the head, which is the seventh Chakra and and fountains out  and floods one with Physical, emotional and spiritual well-being. The seven colours of the vibgyor, transform into a white brilliant light.

Incidentally, the fifth chakra is the throat chakra and is considered to be the colour blue. If you have problems with expression, communication and judgment, then visualise the colour blue and watch it dissolve all your blockages in that area. It governs lungs, vocal chords, bronchial apparatus and metabolism.

The sixth chakra is is located in the center of the forehead. It is popularly known as the third eye. It is observed as the colour indigo. The third eye location is popularly considered, as the the spiritual domain. It externalises as the pituitary gland. It governs the nervous system, ears nose and the left eye.

The seventh or crown chakra is located at the top of the head. It is found where the pineal gland is, and it supervises the upper brain and right eye. It is through this chakra that one reaches Godhead. It is observed as the colour violet, or as a white light, which is the combination of all colours.

To read my thoughts on Om (Aum), click here.


Dal Sabzi for the Aatman   is the sole property of Shakun Narain.
This website was created for Shakun Narain by SunUt Designs.